1. label
  2. 18 – Rust

18 – Rust

18 Rust

Luca Dalpozzo Quintet

  • Luca Dalpozzo (doublebass and compositions)
  • Frank Martino (guitar and live electronics)
  • Manuel Caliumi (alto sax)
  • Giulio Stermieri (piano)
  • Marco Frattini (drums)

RUST is the first solo project of the double bass player Luca Dalpozzo, who brings together in this brand-new quintet some of the most interesting musicians of the national jazz scene.
Jazz writing and collective improvisation coexist, acoustic timbres and live electronics, seeking a contemporary sound with a solid link with the DNA of tradition.

Luca Dalpozzo is a double bass player, electric bassist, composer born in Bologna in 1983. He studied with great double bass masters such as Ares Tavolazzi (jazz) and Alberto Farolfi (classical), he studied Cuban music in depth with Jorge Reyes Hernandez in La Habana, and he obtained the I and II level Academic Diplomas in Jazz Music (Jazz Double Bass) at the Conservatories of Ferrara and Adria and the diploma in Classical Double Bass at the Bologna Conservatory.

Active for several years on the national and European jazz scene, he has played in Italy and abroad, participating in numerous festivals, CDs and reviews with various nationally and internationally renowned artists, ranging across multiple musical genres and shades of improvised music, from traditional swing to contemporary jazz.

As co-leader, arranger and composer he has released two CDs with the Paesani-Dalpozzo- Mazzucco Trio (“Wayne’s Playground” and “Imbiss” with Abeat Records) which have received numerous praise from the public and specialized critics.